Girl talk and sweets at L’atelier by Monsieur Truffe

November 15, 2011 at 11:02 pm (Sweets & Dessert) ()

I was lucky enough to have my friend HT visit from Sydney this past weekend. My trips back home to Sydney can be quite sporadic so I’m always happy to catch up on all the juicy details of my friend’s lives on Melbourne ground (and HT’s updates are always juicy).

HT arrived in Melbourne armed with a list of recommended eateries to try one of which was L’atelier by Monsieur Truffe in East Brunswick. I have been meaning to try out their affiliated cafe (Monsieur Truffle in Collingwood) for a while now but can never get there before they close at 5pm. I have actually noticed that a lot of Melbourne’s dessert houses close before dinner time ruining any chance of me visiting as I usually keep my dessert habits to after dark (must be a sub conscious attempt to conceal my weakness for sugar laden food).

The only way we spotted this place was through the street numbering and by instructions to look for the red door (there is no sign otherwise). Bingo! The door was large, wooden, and bright red – you really can’t miss it.

It’s very spacious inside with a high ceiling, a glassed off area which had large machinery (I assume to make chocolate) and the tables were spacey. 

 

We were here for lunch / afternoon tea and so we shared the lemon pancakes and the berries with muesli.

The pancakes were light and fluffy. I loved the lemon syrup it came with. Tangy and sweet and at the same time refreshing. It was matched well with fresh strawberries. It was quite simple a dish and not at all heavy.

The berries with museli (okay… I forgot the real name, I’m sure it was more elegantly named than that) was generously served with different type of berries from blueberry to strawberry and raspberry. The bottom of the jar had a berry flavoured jelly which was lovely as it gave a smooth and sweet texture to contrast the sometimes sour bite of the berries. The whole dish was sprinkled with muesli but in my opinion, not enough. The whole dish was bery berry (get it?)… so you do tend to get sick of it after a while.


I washed this down with an iced mocha and HT had the house hot chocolate. We both didn’t think that the drinks were anything out of the ordinary which surprised us since this is a chocolate joint after all!

I enjoyed afternoon tea here but I don’t think I’ll be rushing back any time soon.

L'atelier by Monsieur Truffe on Urbanspoon

2 Comments

  1. Di said,

    Wow! Trust you guys to eat healthily! Even for for dessert!!! Pancakes sound nice right now…. Hmmm…

  2. P said,

    Whaaaat? I missed out..

    Nice photos and descriptions.

Leave a comment